BCGP/GPTX Candidates



At our conventions in March & asking YOUR vote on November 4th, 2014:

Judith Sanders-Castro Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4

Antonio Diaz US House of Representatives District 21
Michael D Cary US House of Representatives District 28
Kat Swift US House of Representatives District 35
Paul Pipkin Bexar County Judge 
Earl Lyons Bexar County Clerk
Tom Swift County Commissioner Precinct 4
Chuck Robinson County Commissioner Precinct 2
Diana Kendall Justice of the Peace Precinct 2

Attend Our Monthly Meeting

 Next meeting: Sunday, January 5, 2014

Times: 2-4 PM At Mission Branch Library
3134 Roosevelt Avenue
San Antonio,TX 78214

 We meet on the first Sunday of each month.

All of the 51 Texas Green Party candidates on the 2014 ballot can be found here. 

Saturday, December 21, 2013

Texas Greens release full 2014 candidate list

The statewide top-of-the-ballot was previously revealed; this latest list contains statewide judicials and downballot Congressional and local races.  A press release is forthcoming, but for now the spreadsheet has the names, offices, and contact data.  Some of the highlights…– As surmised, the Greens filed for three statewide judicial slots left unfilled by the Texas Democratic Party. Those are…
  • Jim Chisholm of Houston, for Justice of the Texas Supreme Court, Place 8.
  • Judith Sanders-Castro of San Antonio, for Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4.
  • George Joseph Altgelt of Laredo, for Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9.

In addition, Charles E. Waterbury of Dallas is running for Place 7 on the Texas Supreme Court.  Waterbury and Chisholm stood for office in 2012; I wrote about them both, and those SCOTX races, in this post.

— The Congressional Greens include — as I was tipped — Remington Alessi, who is challenging Sheila Jackson Lee in CD-18.  (Jackson-Lee has also drawn a repeat Democratic  primary foeUpdate: He’s not actually a Democrat, which you can verify if you click that link and listen to him being interviewed by Michael Berry.)  Mark Roberts will again run against Ted Poe in CD-2.  George Reiter, the co-chair of the Harris County Green Party and a UH professor (he also has a radio show on KPFT) will take on Congressman Al Green.  Don Cook, fresh off his bid for Houston mayor, submits his name in CD-13, where the incumbent Mac Thornberry has two Republican primary challengers, and then a Democrat and a Libertarian in the fall of 2014.  And kat swift of San Antonio, the GPTX’s matriarch, filed against Lloyd Doggett in CD-35.  The Greens will also have a candidate in the race to replace Steve Stockman in CD-36; he is Hal J. Ridley Jr. of Bridge City.

— Austin legislative candidates include, for District 10 of the Texas state Senate (the one being vacated by Wendy Davis), John Tunmire of Fort Worth.  David Courtney, the husband of the Green Party’s lieutenant governor nominee, will run once more against Joan Huffman in SD-17.

State representative challengers are eight in number across the state and include Art Browning, again challenging Republican Allen Fletcher  in HD-130, and Morgan Bradford, the only opponent to Rep. Borris Miles in HD-146.

There are four Green candidates for County Judge across the state: David Collins in Harris (Ed Emmett, incumbent), Paul Pipkin in Bexar (Nelson Wolff, inc.); Jeff Questad in Travis (Samuel Biscoe, inc., retiring) and Frank Cortez in Webb (Danny Valdez, inc.).

There are also four Greens running for County Clerk: Earl Lyons in Bexar (Gerry Rickhoff, incumbent); Bill Stout in Travis (Dana DeBeauvoir, inc.); Matthew Hanson in Comal (Joy Streater, inc.); and Schyler Butler in Denton (Cynthia Mitchell, inc.).

— Houston attorney Clint Davidson is a candidate for for Harris County Court of Criminal Law #13.  He has a blog titled “Trouble is My Business”.

thanks to Perry Dorrell at